The Australian Capital Territory’s non-government school sector consists of schools from a range of educational and/or religious philosophies. The variety of schools in the sector reflects the diversity of the community in the ACT and caters for the preferences of parents for a particular style of education for their children.

In 2015 there are 45 non-government schools (44 are registered and 1 is provisionally registered) on 52 campuses in the ACT. A list of all non-government schools in the ACT may be found on the Non-government Schools page.

ACT non-government schools are registered in accordance with the Education Act 2004 which requires non-government schools to be registered or provisionally registered before operating as a school or commencing the education of a child at any educational level.

The ACT Non-government School 2015 Registration Manual is designed to assist applicants, proprietors, principals, registration coordinators and registration panels to understand the:

  • in-principle approval and registration processes
  • evidence required when applying for in-principle approval or registration of ACT non-government schools

Briefing Papers

Revised 2015 ACT Non-Government Schools Registration Manual

Main Partner